Drama Club 2018 Oklahoma!


  • Tuesday, April 17, 2017 2:30-5:30 Hutta Gym-Drama Club Dress Rehearsal 
  • Wed, April 18, 2017 6:00 and 7:30pm-Drama Club Performances G2K Oklahoma!
  • Thursday, April 19, 2017 8:30am and 1pm G2K Oklahoma!

This site contains last year's information at the moment.  The tips below may help you prepare, however.






Audition Guidelines

We have chosen to have auditions a bit closer to the style of auditions commonly used in high schools and community theaters.  Because we have a large number of students, these auditions must be relatively quick.  

For students who are interested in a solo singing role:
Sing one minute or less from "The Wizard of Oz," a broadway song, or Disney-type song.  No pop songs please!  You must be able to sing a cappella because accompaniment will not be available.
 
For students interested in a speaking part:
Choose one or two of your favorite lines from the character you are most interested in.  You may do this for up to two, or possibly three characters.  Be prepared to move like your chosen character at this time.
 
For students not interested in solo or speaking parts:
Be prepared to sing "Ding Dong, the Witch is Dead" in a group. 

Each student should bring an index card with the following information:

1. Name and class
2. Preferred roles, in order of preference (up to three)
3. Dance experience
4. Previous shows
5. Any other useful information


Some audition tips:  
  • You might consider asking a piano-player (student) to play your first pitch just before your audition.
  • Try not to apologize, it can show a lack of confidence, which is opposite what you want to present..  Apologies include "I have a cold," or "I usually sound better."
  • Try to act and be the character even when you are singing.
  • Choose a song that best shows your singing ability. It does not have to be from this show.
  • You will be able to audition multiple times for different directors. Don't worry if the first one doesn't go as well as you hoped.
  • Try practicing in front of a mirror or family members or friends.

Break a leg!
 
 





Thu, Jan 19 first meeting

Mon, Jan 23 auditions

Thu, Jan 26 conclude auditions

Mon, Jan 30  announce cast/ music

Thu, Feb 2  music

Mon, Feb 6 choreography

Thu, Feb 9  choreography

Mon, Feb 13 music/choreography

Thu, Feb 16 block first half

Mon, Feb 20 no school or rehearsal

Thu, Feb 23 block second half

Mon, Feb 28 review blocking first half

Thu, March 2 review blocking second half

Mon, March 6  first half on book

Thu, March 9 second half on book

Mon, March 13 TBA

Thu, March 16 TBA

Mon, March 20 TBA

Thu, March 23 run first half off book

Mon, March 27 Spring Break  no rehearsal

Thu, March 30 Spring Break no rehearsal

Mon, April 3 run second half off book

Thu, April 6 run first half

Mon, April 10 Holy Week TBA-no rehearsal

Thu, April 13 Holy Thursday TBA-no rehearsal

Thu, April 20  run 2nd half

Mon, April 24 full run

Thu, April 27 8th grade in DC TBA

Mon, May 1 full runthrough



Tuesday, May 2, 2017 2:30-5:30 Hutta Gym-Drama Club Dress Rehearsal 

The Wizard of Oz

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 6:00 and 7:30pm-Drama Club Performances 

Thursday, May 4, 2017 8:30 and 9:30am-Drama Club Performances



Program Shout Outs:  A reminder that messages are available for the program for $3 each or two for $5.  Please send them with payment to St. Matthew to Mrs. Amweg.  camweg@cdeducation.org


 We are looking for immediate help for the performance night. We need at least two parents t to help collect and monitor admissions donations and candy grams. Here are what the jobs would entail:
1. Arrive fifteen minutes BEFORE the students (approximately 5:15pm) to prepare the donations table at the entrance.

2. Admissions Donations - one parent will set out and monitor donations for admission to the show. Once the show begins, you will bring all collected monies to one of the Drama club teachers. Any help you can give is much appreciated!

3. Candy Grams - one parent will set out and be in charge of selling and collecting candy grams. Candy grams are $1.00 notes attached to a piece of candy that friends and family can purchase for the performers. We will collect the candy grams and money donations and then hand out the candy grams to the students after the show. This parent would also be responsible for purchasing the candy to be used for the candy grams and with a receipt, will be reimbursed by drama club. However, if you are available to help sell the candy grams but unable to purchase candy, we would still like your help and will take care of the candy ourselves. If possible, we would like the same parent to help both nights, but any help you can give is much appreciated. Once the show starts, you can return the candy grams, extra candy, and money donations to one of the Drama club teachers.
*Please note that both of these responsibilities will be done by the time the show starts and you will still be able to enjoy the show.